Use “Profile Discovery” to display basic information only in search results, available in open beta

What’s changing

Google Workspace admins can now turn on “Profile discovery” for their users. When turned on, users can customize how they appear across Google products to people who search for them by their phone number or email. Specifically, you can choose how you want your name to be displayed and how your profile picture will be displayed.

This feature is available in open beta, which means no additional sign-up is required to use the feature.

In the Admin console, under Directory Settings > Profile editing, you can turn “Profile discovery” on or off for your users.

To help people recognize you, we’ll share basic information needed to confirm your identity. After you interact with someone, they’ll typically see your full name, profile picture, and more from your Google Account.

Getting started

Admins: This feature will be OFF by default and can be turned on at the domain, OU, or group level. Visit the Help Center to learn more about user’s Directory profiles and allowing Directory user’s to change their profile and photo.End users: If enabled by your admin, you can set up your Profile discovery in your Google Account settings: Go to myaccount.google.com > Personal Info > Your Profiles > Manage your Profile discovery settings or use this direct link. Visit the Help Center to learn more about how to control what others see about you across Google services.

Rollout pace

Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on December 12, 2023

Availability

Available to all Google Workspace customers

Resources