Closed caption support in Google Meet expands to an additional thirty-one languages

What’s changing

We’ve expanded support for closed captioning to include the following additional languages:





-Australian English




-English (India)

-English (Philippines)

















-Tamil (India)

-Telugu (India)



– Zulu

You’ll notice that the newly supported languages are denoted with a “beta” tag as we continue to optimize performance.

Getting started

Admins: There is no impact for this update.End users: These languages will be available by default. Visit the Help Center to learn more about using closed captions in Google Meet.

Rollout pace

This update is available now for all users.


Available to all Google Workspace customers and users with personal Google Accounts